India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Cricket on Pay Per View India Cricket Live

ICC Champions Trophy 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed
Mini World Cup in India   Discuss ICC Champions Trophy Read Related

Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh, Mohali

Upul Tharanga's century instrumental in Srilanka's victory over Bangladesh

In the first qualifying match for the Champions Cup in Mohali, Srilanka pulled off an easy victory against Bangladesh, thanks to a century by Upul Tharanga. In response to Sri Lanka's score of 302 runs at the loss of 8 wickets, Bangladesh could come up with only 265 runs in 50 overs and just one wicket in hand.
Tharanga anchored himself at the crease to hit 105 runs off 129 balls and was instrumental in the Srilankan victory. The rest of the top order batsmen all contributed to the score by forming lasting partnerships with Tharanga to help Srilanka get to a comfortable total of 302. Bangladesh fought back by taking 4 wickets in quick succession towards the end, but Srilanka still managaed to get their score past the 300 mark as Muralitharan and Tillakaratne amassed 28 runs in the last two overs.
Though Bangladesh suffered some early setbacks when their turn came to bat, they did put up a fight. The efforts worth mentioning include Saqibul Hasan's unbeaten 67 runs which included his first 50 in ODIs, Aftab Ahmed's 33 off 31 balls with 5 boundaries and a six.
But in the end, Srilanka turned out to be the better team, beating Bangladesh by 37 runs to win this first qualifying match for the ICC Champions Trophy.
The next match will be between Australia and Zimbabwe on Sunday in Ahmedabad.
Champions Trophy qualifying round, Mohali: Sri Lanka 302-8 (50 overs) bt Bangladesh 265-9 (50 overs) by 37 runs

Bangladesh face Sri Lanka in opener today

The first match of the Champions Trophy will be played at Mohali on Saturday between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.
The 1996 World Cup champions and the joint winners of the 2002 Champions Trophy Sri Lanka begin as overwhelming favourites in this encounter which kicks off the qualifying stage. The Sri Lankans have been in pretty good form of late including a 5-0 whitewash of England in England. Bangladesh on the other hand were beaten by a young Zimbabwe team 3-2 in a five match series recently and will be keen to cause an upset although they have beaten Sri Lanka just once in 17 matches. Sri Lanka coach Tom Moody said his team would treat Bangladesh with the respect they deserve. But he said his players would tread cautiously against the improving minnows, who have beaten Australia, India and Sri Lanka in recent times. Visiting Sri Lanka whitewashed England 5-0 in a One-Day series in July. Moody said the qualifiers would help his team prepare for the Champions Trophy main rounds which start on October 15. Sri Lanka failed to clinch one of the automatic main-round berths as only the top six teams in the One-Day rankings on April 1 made the cut. Sri Lanka Team (from): Mahela Jayawardene (Captain), Marvan Atapattu, Malinga Bandara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dilhara Fernando, Sanath Jayasuriya, Chamara Kapugedera, Farveez Maharoof, Lasith Malinga, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ruchira Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Upul Tharanga, Chaminda Vaas.
Bangladesh Team (from): Habibul Bashar (Captain), Aftab Ahmed, Mohammad Ashraful, Saqibul Hasan, Mehrab Hossain, Shahadat Hossain, Khaled Mashud, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shahriar Nafees, Mohammad Rafique, Syed Rasel, Abdur Razzak, Farhad Reza, Rajin Saleh.

Champions Trophy Qulifying round: Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, Mohali


Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh by 37 runs
Bangladesh won the toss and decided to field
302 for 8 (50.0 overs)
265 for 9 (50.0 overs)

Sri Lanka Innings
W U Tharanga
b Mashrafe Mortaza
129 11 1
S T Jayasuriya lbw b Syed Rasel
46 5 0
D P M D Jayawardene c Aftab Ahmed b Abdur Razzak
24 6 1
K C Sangakkara c Mashrafe Mortaza b Mohammad Rafique
23 1 0
M S Atapattu c Farhad Reza b Syed Rasel
42 7 0
T M Dilshan not out
22 2 0
M F Maharoof run out
1 0 0
W P U J C Vaas c Farhad Reza b Abdur Razzak
7 0 0
M Muralitharan run out
4 1 1
S L Malinga not out
2 1 0
16w 1b 4lb 21
for 8 302 (50.0 ovs)

Mashrafe Mortaza 10.0 0 60 1
Syed Rasel 10.0 0 65 2
Farhad Reza 8.0 0 63 0
Abdur Razzak 10.0 0 49 2
Mohammad Rafique 10.0 0 37 1
Saqibul Hasan 2.0 0 23 0
Fall of wicket
67 S T Jayasuriya
130 D P M D Jayawardene
193 K C Sangakkara
244 W U Tharanga
260 M S Atapattu
262 M F Maharoof
273 W P U J C Vaas
295 M Muralitharan

Bangladesh Innings
Shahriar Nafees c K C Sangakkara b W P U J C Vaas
22 0 0
Mohammad Ashraful c K C Sangakkara b C R D Fernando
43 2 0
Aftab Ahmed c K C Sangakkara b M F Maharoof
31 5 1
Saqibul Hasan not out
108 7 0
Habibul Bashar c D P M D Jayawardene b M F Maharoof
2 0 0
Farhad Reza st K C Sangakkara b M Muralitharan
30 4 1
Khaled Mashud run out
8 1 0
Mohammad Rafique c W P U J C Vaas b S T Jayasuriya
18 0 0
Mashrafe Mortaza
b W P U J C Vaas
24 3 1
Abdur Razzak
b M F Maharoof
18 2 0
Syed Rasel not out
2 0 0
6nb 21w 4b 5lb 36
for 9 265 (50.0 ovs)

W P U J C Vaas 10.0 2 46 2
S L Malinga 10.0 1 35 0
C R D Fernando 5.0 0 39 1
M F Maharoof 7.0 0 47 3
M Muralitharan 10.0 0 45 1
S T Jayasuriya 8.0 0 46 1
Fall of wicket
22 Shahriar Nafees
55 Mohammad Ashraful
78 Aftab Ahmed
78 Habibul Bashar
141 Farhad Reza
155 Khaled Mashud
177 Mohammad Rafique
226 Mashrafe Mortaza
264 Abdur Razzak

Umpires: S A Bucknor, D J Harper

Champions Trophy Qulifying round: Sri Lanka v Bangladesh, Mohali


Punjab Cricket Association Stadium, Mohali

The Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) Stadium in Mohali is one of the most modern and best equipped stadiums in India. The stadium will host the curtain raiser, between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, the much-awaited India-Australia clash and the semi-finals.

ICC Champions Trophy Cricket (Mini World Cup) 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed


Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.