India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

ICC Champions Trophy 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed
Mini World Cup in India   Discuss ICC Champions Trophy Read Related

Australia vs England, Jaipur

Group A, Match 3 ENG vs AUS: England faces early exit

England lost by 6 wickets after their batting failed again in the Champions Trophy game in Jaipur. They were bowled out for 169 by Australia who reached the target in 36.5 overs. Birthday boy Damien Martyn scored an effortless 78 after Australia's top order cracked under pressure for the second consecutive match, losing 3-4. But Martyn, who hit 12 boundaries and faced 91 deliveries, combined with Mike Hussey for a match-winning partnership of 118 for the fourth wicket.
Earlier Mitchell Johnson and Shane Watson, the two youngest members of the Australian team, took three wickets each after England had reached 83-0. Only Ian Bell (43) and Andrew Strauss (56) shone in a total of 169. Even a victory over West Indies is now unlikely to secure England a semi-final place. They were shot out for 125 by India at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium last Sunday in their opener. Meanwhile the win put Australia back in the hunt for a semi-final place in the tournament, with another key game to come against India on October 29.England (Playing XI): A J Strauss, I R Bell, A Flintoff, M H Yardy, K P Pietersen, P D Collingwood, J W M Dalrymple, C M W Read, S I Mahmood, S J Harmison, J M Anderson
Australia (Playing XI): A C Gilchrist, S R Watson, R T Ponting, D R Martyn, A Symonds, M J Clarke, M E K Hussey, M G Johnson, B Lee, N W Bracken, G D McGrath
ICC Champions Trophy, Jaipur, Australia 170-4 (36.5 overs) bt England 169 (45 overs) by six wickets

Australia, England clash in a battle for survival

World champions Australia and 2004 finalists England clash in a sudden-death Group A Champions Trophy match on saturday. The match is slated in the North-western city of Jaipur on the day India celebrates Deepavali, the festival of lights, which is marked by ear-splitting fireworks that begin at dusk and continue for hours, leaving a dark haze of smoke and heavily polluted air.
Andrew Flintoff, captaining England against Australia for the first time, will be batting at the number 3 position. Australian captain Ponting played down the significance of the result before the Ashes, pointing out that not many of his team would be in Test action.

Both teams have lost their first of the three group league matches and must win their second one at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium here to keep their challenge going for the game's second most coveted title after the World Cup. While India beat England here Sunday, defending champions West Indies stunned Australia in Mumbai Wednesday night to throw the group wide open in the eight-nation tournament. Australia will, however, start with a slight psychological edge as they have beaten England in their last two head-to-head matches. But that was three months ago and in a completely different environment, in England in the NatWest Challenge. Australia won that series 2-1 in July.
Another remarkable statistic that would encourage the Australians is that in the last 22 matches they have beaten England 16 times, lost only three matches, one has ended in a tie and one in a 'no result'. Both teams will be well aware of the dew factor - and the importance of winning the toss - that will come into play for the team that bats second under lights, as it was evident when England bowled Sunday evening against India here. Australia team (from): Ricky Ponting (Captain), Adam Gilchrist (Wicket Keeper), Simon Katich, Michael Hussey, Andrew Symonds, Damien Martyn, Michael Clarke, Shane Watson, Brett Lee, Brad Hogg, Nathan Bracken, Dan Cullen, Glenn McGrath and Mitchell Johnson
England team (from): Andrew Flintoff (Captain), James Anderson, Ian Bell, Rikki Clarke, Paul Collingwood, James Dalrymple, Steve Harmison, Ed Joyce, Sajid Mahmood, Jon Lewis, Kevin Pietersen, Chris Read (Wicket Keeper), Andrew Strauss and Michael Yardy

Champions Trophy Group A: Australia vs England, Jaipur


Australia beat England by 6 wickets
Australia won the toss and decided to field
169 all out (45.0 overs)
170 for 4 (36.5 overs)

England Innings
A J Strauss c A C Gilchrist b A Symonds
90 6 0
I R Bell c M E K Hussey b S R Watson
60 7 0
K P Pietersen c A C Gilchrist b M G Johnson
6 0 0
A Flintoff c M E K Hussey b S R Watson
15 0 0
M H Yardy c A C Gilchrist b S R Watson
15 0 0
P D Collingwood not out
38 1 0
J W M Dalrymple c R T Ponting b M G Johnson
15 0 0
C M W Read c A C Gilchrist b G D McGrath
2 0 0
S I Mahmood c and b N W Bracken
13 0 0
S J Harmison c A C Gilchrist b M G Johnson
3 0 0
J M Anderson
b G D McGrath
19 2 0
6nb 3w 3lb 12
all out 169 (45.0 ovs)

B Lee 9.0 3 25 0
N W Bracken 8.0 0 38 1
G D McGrath 9.0 1 36 2
M G Johnson 10.0 0 40 3
S R Watson 7.0 0 16 3
A Symonds 2.0 0 11 1
Fall of wicket
83 I R Bell
84 K P Pietersen
110 A Flintoff
115 A J Strauss
125 M H Yardy
135 J W M Dalrymple
136 C M W Read
150 S I Mahmood
151 S J Harmison
169 J M Anderson

Australia Innings
A C Gilchrist
b S I Mahmood
10 2 0
S R Watson
b J M Anderson
26 3 0
R T Ponting c A J Strauss b S I Mahmood
4 0 0
D R Martyn c C M W Read b S J Harmison
91 12 0
M E K Hussey not out
85 2 0
A Symonds not out
10 1 0
5nb 6w 4b 5lb 20
for 4 170 (36.5 ovs)

J M Anderson 9.0 2 31 1
S I Mahmood 10.0 0 57 2
S J Harmison 4.5 0 45 1
M H Yardy 10.0 1 18 0
J W M Dalrymple 3.0 0 10 0
Fall of wicket
30 A C Gilchrist
34 R T Ponting
34 S R Watson
152 D R Martyn

Umpires: B F Bowden, S A Bucknor

Champions Trophy Group A: Australia vs England, Jaipur


Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

The Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur is the most refurbished of the four venues with floodlights now installed. The ground will host six matches, including Englands pre-Ashes tie against Australia on October 21.

ICC Champions Trophy Cricket (Mini World Cup) 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed


Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.