India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

ICC Champions Trophy 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed
Mini World Cup in India   Discuss ICC Champions Trophy Read Related

India vs England, Jaipur

Group A, Match 1 IND vs ENG: India starts tourney with stuttering win

India made heavy weather of a small target chasing 126 to beat England in the ICC Champions Trophy opener in Jaipur. Tendulkar scored 35 and Yuvraj Singh remained not out on 27 as India managed to reach 126/6 in 29.3 overs.
Earlier Munaf Patel and Ramesh Powar each took three wickets after England were out for 125, captain Andrew Flintoff out for a duck in his 100th ODI. Dravid won the toss and decided to bowl first, having his team packed with five bowlers.
The best performance from any batsman in the match was Paul Collingwood's 38. England (Playing XI): A Flintoff (Captain), AJ Strauss, IR Bell, MH Yardy, KP Pietersen, PD Collingwood, JWM Dalrymple, CMW Read, SI Mahmood, SJ Harmison, JM Anderson
India (Playing XI): Rahul Dravid (Captain), V Sehwag, SR Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, SK Raina, MS Dhoni, IK Pathan, AB Agarkar, Harbhajan Singh, RR Powar, MM Patel
ICC Champions Trophy Group A, Jaipur: India 126/6 (29.3 ov) beat England 125 all out (37 overs) by 4 wickets

India, England kick off Champions Trophy

Champions Trophy hosts India will kick start three weeks of intense action among the world's top eight teams with the opening main round match against 2004 finalists England in Jaipur on Sunday.
The teams face off in the first fixture in Group A, which also includes England's Ashes rivals Australia, who are thirsting to win the one title that has eluded them since the biennial event began in 1998. Prior to the main tournament, defending champions West Indies and Sri Lanka advanced from a four-team qualifying league by virtue of wins over minnows Bangladesh and Zimbabwe this week. The two meet on Saturday to decide which nation tops the group and joins former winners South Africa and New Zealand in Group B along with Pakistan. The loser of the match will go into Group A.
England skipper Andrew Flintoff returns after ankle surgery with one eye on the Ashes series starting in Australia on Nov 23 and hoping to atone for a 5-1 ODI series rout in India in April. The inspirational all rounder may only bat after announcing he would not bowl in the early stages of the event to avoid breaking down. India are under pressure after their form dip led to a 4-1 series defeat in West Indies, who also pipped them to the final against winners Australia in the Malaysia tri-series last month. England (from): A Flintoff (Captain), AJ Strauss, IR Bell, KP Pietersen, PD Collingwood, MH Yardy, JWM Dalrymple, CMW Read, SJ Harmison, JP Lewis, JM Anderson, SI Mahmood.
India (from): R Dravid (Captain), S Tendulkar, V Sehwag, Y Singh, M Kaif, S Raina, D Mongia, M Dhoni, I Pathan, A Agarkar, H Singh, M Patel, R Pratap Singh, R Powar.

Champions Trophy Group A : India vs England, Jaipur


India beat England by 4 wickets
India won the toss and decided to field
125 all out (37.0 overs)
126 for 6 (29.3 overs)

England Innings
A J Strauss c R Dravid b I K Pathan
32 1 0
I R Bell lbw b M M Patel
7 0 0
A Flintoff lbw b I K Pathan
7 0 0
M H Yardy lbw b M M Patel
9 0 0
K P Pietersen c S R Tendulkar b M M Patel
39 4 0
P D Collingwood c M S Dhoni b R R Powar
54 5 0
J W M Dalrymple c R Dravid b R R Powar
46 0 0
C M W Read c I K Pathan b Harbhajan Singh
7 0 0
S I Mahmood c Harbhajan Singh b R R Powar
13 1 0
S J Harmison not out
8 0 0
J M Anderson run out
1 0 0
1nb 2w 2lb 5
all out 125 (37.0 ovs)

I K Pathan 8.0 3 20 2
M M Patel 8.0 2 18 3
A B Agarkar 5.0 0 34 0
Harbhajan Singh 8.0 0 27 1
R R Powar 8.0 1 24 3
Fall of wicket
10 I R Bell
11 A Flintoff
17 M H Yardy
27 A J Strauss
55 K P Pietersen
104 P D Collingwood
107 C M W Read
119 S I Mahmood
124 J W M Dalrymple
125 J M Anderson

India Innings
V Sehwag c A J Strauss b S J Harmison
4 2 0
S R Tendulkar lbw b S J Harmison
41 5 0
I K Pathan c K P Pietersen b J M Anderson
34 4 0
R Dravid c A J Strauss b J M Anderson
3 1 0
Yuvraj Singh not out
61 4 0
M S Dhoni c P D Collingwood b J W M Dalrymple
22 0 0
S K Raina
b J W M Dalrymple
2 0 0
Harbhajan Singh not out
11 1 0
1nb 11w 7lb 19
for 6 126 (29.3 ovs)

J M Anderson 7.0 1 40 2
S J Harmison 6.0 0 34 2
S I Mahmood 8.3 0 30 0
M H Yardy 4.0 0 10 0
J W M Dalrymple 4.0 0 5 2
Fall of wicket
18 V Sehwag
68 I K Pathan
72 R Dravid
98 S R Tendulkar
119 M S Dhoni
119 S K Raina

Umpires: D J Harper, S J A Taufel

Champions Trophy Group A : India vs England, Jaipur


Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

The Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur is the most refurbished of the four venues with floodlights now installed. The ground will host six matches, including Englands pre-Ashes tie against Australia on October 21.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.