India Domestic Cricket

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India Domestic Cricket Formats

Ranji Trophy

The Ranji Trophy is the domestic first-class cricket championship played in India between state and city sides, equivalent to county cricket in England and the Pura Cup in Australia, and also denotes the trophy that is awarded to the winner.
Ranji Trophy Cricket

NKP Salve Challenger Trophy

In 1994-95, the Board of Control for Cricket in India BCCI introduced the Challenger series, an annual day-night one-day tournament, keeping in view India's one-day international commitments. The Challenger series is played with the purpose of show-casing the talent that the country has, as well as providing opportunities to younger players to make an impression. The tournament is played in October before the start of Ranji season.
From 1998-99 the tournament was known as the NKP Salve Challenger Trophy, named after former Board of Control for Cricket in India president NKP Salve - the man who brought the World Cup to the sub-continent in 1987.
NKP Salve Challenger Trophy

Irani Trophy

The Irani Trophy tournament was conceived during the 1959-60 season to mark the completion of 25 years of the Ranji Trophy championship and was named after the late Z.R. Irani, who was associated with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) from its inception in 1928, till his death in 1970. The fixture is always played between the previous year's Ranji Trophy winners and the Rest of India Team.
Irani Trophy Cricket

Duleep Trophy

The Duleep Trophy competition was started by the Board of Control for Cricket in India in 1961-62.
It is named after Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji. The original format was that five teams, drawn from the five zones, played each other on a knock-out basis. From the 1993-94 season however, the competition converted to a league format. The 2005-06 competition was won by West Zone after they beat East Zone by five wickets in the final.
Duleep Trophy Cricket

Deodhar Trophy

The current one-day cricket competition in Indian domestic cricket is the Deodhar Trophy. It is named after Prof. D. B. Deodhar (known as the Grand Old Man of Indian cricket) and is a 50-over one-day competition played on a league basis among the 5 zonal teams - North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone and Central Zone. The competition was introduced in 1973-74 season with South Zone winning the trophy.
The winner of the 2005-06 competition was North Zone for whom this was a record 11th tournament victory.
Deodhar Trophy Cricket

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.