India Cricket Tournament History

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India Cricket Tournament History

Cricket World Cup

The ICC Cricket World Cup, generally referred to as the Cricket World Cup, is the premier international championship of men's One-day International (ODI) cricket. The event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament which is held every four years. According to the ICC, it is the most important tournament and the pinnacle of achievement in the sport. The first Cricket World Cup contest was organised in England in 1975.
Year Postion
1975 Round 1
1979 Round 1
1983 Winner
1987 Semifinalist
1992 Round 1
1996 Semifinalist
1999 Super 6
2003 Runners-Up

ICC Champions Trophy

The ICC Champions Trophy, also known as the Mini World Cup, is cricket's one-day international tournament second in importance only to the Cricket World Cup. It was inaugurated as the ICC Knock Out tournament in 1998 and has been played every two years since, changing its name to the Champions Trophy in 2002. All ten full members of the International Cricket Council (ICC) take part, together with (for the first four competitions) two associate members.
Since the quadrennial Cricket World Cup and on-going ICC ODI Championship effectively determine the relative rankings of international cricket teams in one-day international cricket, there seems to be little need for the Champions Trophy as a junior tournament. However, the Champions Trophy is a financially important event for the ICC. Money generated through the event is used in ICC's Development Program.
Although being the second most important one-day tournament in cricket, the ICC Champions Trophy has sometimes been criticised by the media, with claims that there is no point for it, when there is the World Cup as well. Before the 2004 tournament, Wisden described it as "the tournament that veers between being the second most important in world cricket and a ludicrous waste of time". However, despite this controversy, many people are still fond of the tournament, and players enjoy having the opportunity to participate in it.
Year Postion
1998 Semifinalist
2000 Runners-Up
2002 Joint Winner with Sri Lanka
2004 Round 1
2006 Group Stage

Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games is a multinational, multi-sport event. Held every four years, it involves the elite athletes of the Commonwealth of Nations. Attendance at the Commonwealth Games is typically around 5,000 athletes.
The first such event, then known as the British Empire Games, was held in 1930 in Hamilton, Ontario Canada. The name changed to British Empire and Commonwealth Games in 1954, to British Commonwealth Games in 1970 and assumed the current name of the Commonwealth Games in 1978.
Year Postion
1998 Round 1

Asia Cup

The Asia Cup is an international cricket tournament. It was conceived in 1983 when the Asian Cricket Council was created as a measure to promote goodwill between Asian countries. It was originally scheduled to be held every two years. The first edition was held in 1984 in Sharjah, UAE where the council's offices were based (until 1995). The International Cricket Council has ruled that all games played for the Asia Cup have official one-day international status. Indian cricket team has lifted the Asia cup four times, the most amongst the competing asian countries.
Year Postion
1984 Champions
1986 Boycott
1988 Champions
1990/91 Champions
1995 Champions
1997 Runners Up
2000 3rd Place
2004 Runners Up

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.