India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

ICC Champions Trophy 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed
Mini World Cup in India   Discuss ICC Champions Trophy Read Related

Australia vs West Indies [Q2], Mumbai

Group A, Match 2 WIN vs AUS: Jerome Taylor's trick gives Windies 10 run victory

Jerome Taylor (4-49) bowled Mike Hussey and Brad Hogg, trapping Brett Lee lbw in between as the Aussies ended on 224-9 in their 50 overs chasing Windies score of 234-6.
After struggling initially at 63/4, Brian Lara and Ruanko Morton put on a great partnership to bring their total to a decent 234. Morton remained not out at 90 and Lara was dismissed at 71 caught by Symond off a ball by McGrath. For the Aussies, Bracken took two wickets and McGrath, Clark, Lee and Watson picked up one each. The world champions were on course to reach their target when Adam Gilchrist (92) and Michael Clarke (47) added 101 but they fell in quick succession. Australia now face a crunch clash with England in Jaipur on Saturday, with the losers facing elimination. Australia (Playing XI): A Gilchrist (Wicket Keeper), S Watson, R Ponting (Captain), D Martyn, M Clarke, A Symonds, M Hussey, B Hogg, B Lee, N Bracken, G McGrath
West Indies (Playing XI): C Gayle, R Morton, R Sarwan, B Lara (Captain), D Bravo, W Hinds, M Samuels, D Smith, C Baugh (Wicket Keeper), I Bradshaw, J Taylor
ICC Champions Trophy Group A, Mumbai: West Indies 234-6 (50 overs) bt Australia 224-9 (50 overs) by 10 runs

Australia start as favourites against Windies

A crack line-up makes world champions Australia clear favourites but countering a slow and unpredictable track could pose a big challenge when they clash with title holders West Indies in their ICC Champions Trophy group A clash here tomorrow.
The Australians yet to win the tournament in the past - stand head and shoulders above the Carribeans in all departments of the game and will be keen to launch their campaign on a triumphant note at the Brabourne Stadium. The bowlers expecially spinners, regular or part-time - have managed to extract lot of help in the last two matches on these early-season pitches, with even a part timer offie like South African captain Graeme Smith turning the ball square against New Zealand in yesterday's Group B opener that saw neither team crossing the 200-run mark. The heat and humidity factor may also work against the Aussies who, however, have made it a point to practice extensively in the mid-day sun whenever the chance has come their way.
While West Indies would bank on their non-regular slow bowlers Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels if selected and Ramnaresh Sarwan if the pitch shows signs of aiding the spin bowlers, Australia have left arm wrist spinner Brad Hogg, off break exponent Andrew Symonds and left arm orthodox slow bowler Michael Clarke to do the needful. The players from the land of the kangaroos have a pretty good past record against the Caribbeans, recording 14 wins in 19 encounters between the two sides in this decade. Where the Windies hold a slight upper hand is in the fact that they have already played four matches in the competition while the Aussies have not featured in any tie so far and had to be content with playing practice ties in Mumbai against India s domestic teams which lacked the arsenal to pose any real threat. Australia team (from): Ricky Ponting (Captain), Adam Gilchrist (Wicket Keeper), Nathan Bracken, Dan Cullen, Michael Clarke, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Brett Lee, Damien Martyn, Glenn McGrath, Shane Watson, Andrew Symonds.
West Indies team (from) : Brian Lara (Captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Runako Morton, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Carlton Baugh (Wicket Keeper), Fidel Edwards, Ian Bradshaw, Jerome Taylor, Marlon Samuels, Wavell Hinds.

Champions Trophy Group A: Australia vs West Indies [Q2], Mumbai


West Indies beat Australia by 10 runs
West Indies won the toss and decided to bat
234 for 6 (50.0 overs)
224 for 9 (50.0 overs)

West Indies Innings
W W Hinds c R T Ponting b N W Bracken
15 0 0
C H Gayle c A C Gilchrist b S R Watson
26 4 0
D R Smith c G B Hogg b B Lee
13 2 0
R R Sarwan lbw b M J Clarke
32 4 0
R S Morton not out
103 7 1
B C Lara c A Symonds b G D McGrath
94 7 2
C S Baugh c R T Ponting b N W Bracken
17 1 0
M N Samuels not out
1 0 0
1nb 3w 1lb 5
for 6 234 (50.0 ovs)

B Lee 8.0 0 45 1
N W Bracken 10.0 1 42 2
G D McGrath 8.0 0 42 1
S R Watson 8.0 0 34 1
M J Clarke 5.0 0 18 1
A Symonds 8.0 0 35 0
G B Hogg 3.0 0 17 0
Fall of wicket
10 W W Hinds
25 D R Smith
47 C H Gayle
63 R R Sarwan
200 B C Lara
233 C S Baugh

Australia Innings
A C Gilchrist run out
120 11 0
S R Watson c R R Sarwan b I D R Bradshaw
3 0 0
R T Ponting
b J E Taylor
5 0 0
D R Martyn c D J Bravo b I D R Bradshaw
24 3 0
A Symonds
b C H Gayle
30 3 0
M J Clarke c and b D J Bravo
85 4 0
M E K Hussey
b J E Taylor
16 1 0
G B Hogg
b J E Taylor
11 1 0
B Lee lbw b J E Taylor
1 0 0
N W Bracken not out
5 0 0
G D McGrath not out
3 0 0
3nb 9w 8lb 20
for 9 224 (50.0 ovs)

I D R Bradshaw 10.0 0 38 2
J E Taylor 10.0 0 49 4
D R Smith 3.0 0 16 0
M N Samuels 10.0 1 36 0
C H Gayle 10.0 0 39 1
D J Bravo 6.0 0 33 1
R R Sarwan 1.0 0 5 0
Fall of wicket
12 S R Watson
17 R T Ponting
44 D R Martyn
81 A Symonds
182 A C Gilchrist
206 M J Clarke
214 M E K Hussey
214 B Lee
219 G B Hogg

Umpires: M R Benson, R E Koertzen

Champions Trophy Group A: Australia vs West Indies [Q2], Mumbai


Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

International cricket returns to the historic Brabourne Stadium after 11 years. Floodlights have been installed and the stands repainted, giving the ground a whole new look. The venue will host five matches, including the final.

ICC Champions Trophy Cricket (Mini World Cup) 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed


Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.