India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

ICC Champions Trophy 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed
Mini World Cup in India   Discuss ICC Champions Trophy Read Related

New Zealand vs Sri Lanka [Q1], Mumbai

Group B, Match 3 NZ vs SL: Sri Lanka keep semi hopes alive

Chasing 166 in the must-win match after losing their opener to Pakistan, Sri Lanka reached the target against New Zealand with 14 overs to spare in ICC Champions Trophy at Mumbai.
Kumar Sangakkara and Marvan Atapattu remained unbeaten on 19 and 10, respectively at the end of the innings. The first session of play saw yet another Muttiah Muralitharan show as he picked up four wickets for 22 runs from his 10 overs and was adjudged the Man of the Match. New Zealand were dismissed for 165 in 49.2 overs with the last wicket pair of Daniel Vettori and Jeetan Patel putting up 47 crucial runs to take their team past the 150-run mark.
Both teams now have a win each from two games. New Zealand team (Playing XI): N Astle, L Vincent, S Fleming (Captain), P Fulton, H Marshall, M Gillespie, B McCullum (Wicket Keeper), S Styris, J Franklin, D Vettori, J Oram, K Mills, J Patel, S Bond
Sri Lanka team (Playing XI): U Tharanga, S Jayasuriya, M Jayawardene (Captain), K Sangakkara (Wicket Keeper), M Atapattu, T Dilshan, K Kapugedera, F Maharoof, D Fernando, L Malinga, M Muralitharan, P Perera, M Bandara, C Vaas
ICC Champions Trophy, Group B, Mumbai: Sri Lanka 166-3 beat New Zealand 165 by seven wickets

Bond still in doubt at ICC Champions Trophy

Pace bowler Shane Bond remains in doubt for New Zealand's next ICC Champions Trophy cricket match against Sri Lanka on Friday due to a continuing back problem.
Black Caps coach John Bracewell said Bond bowled seven overs in a light workout at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, India, and still felt a bit stiff. He said they were in contact with a specialist in New Zealand and the Canterbury paceman would have another bowl overnight, unless the stiffness persisted.
Bond, 31, has a history of back problems and missed the Black Caps' opening match in the tournament against South Africa yesterday. The Black Caps won by 87 runs. Meanwhile, all rounder Scott Styris remained in doubt for Sri Lanka with a back strain and slight hamstring twinge. Lara's West Indies could only muster 80 runs against Sri Lanka at Brabourne Stadium on Saturday and yesterday Smith slammed the pitch after his team went down to New Zealand. New Zealand team (from) : Stephen Fleming (Captain), Nathan Astle, Shane Bond, James Franklin, Peter Fulton, Mark Gillespie, Brendon McCullum, Hamish Marshall, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Scott Styris, Daniel Vettori, Lou Vincent
Sri Lanka team (from) : Mahela Jayawardene (Captain), Marvan Atapattu, Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedara, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Ruchira Perera, Dilhara Fernando, Lasith Malinga, Muttiah Muralitharan and Malinga Bandara.

Champions Trophy Group B: New Zealand vs Sri Lanka [Q1], Mumbai


Sri Lanka beat New Zealand by 7 wickets
New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat
165 all out (49.2 overs)
166 for 3 (36.0 overs)

New Zealand Innings
L Vincent
b M F Maharoof
41 1 0
S P Fleming lbw b W P U J C Vaas
11 0 0
N J Astle c S L Malinga b M Muralitharan
74 6 0
H J H Marshall c T M Dilshan b S L Malinga
6 1 0
S B Styris c K C Sangakkara b S T Jayasuriya
12 0 0
J D P Oram
b M Muralitharan
22 0 0
B B McCullum c D P M D Jayawardene b M Muralitharan
30 0 0
D L Vettori not out
53 5 0
K D Mills lbw b M Muralitharan
11 1 0
S E Bond c K C Sangakkara b S T Jayasuriya
4 0 0
J S Patel c D P M D Jayawardene b S L Malinga
39 0 0
7nb 10w 8lb 25
all out 165 (49.2 ovs)

W P U J C Vaas 10.0 1 41 1
S L Malinga 9.2 1 22 2
M F Maharoof 8.0 0 34 1
S T Jayasuriya 10.0 0 26 2
M Muralitharan 10.0 1 23 4
T M Dilshan 2.0 0 11 0
Fall of wicket
14 S P Fleming
37 L Vincent
56 H J H Marshall
66 S B Styris
82 J D P Oram
87 N J Astle
101 B B McCullum
115 K D Mills
118 S E Bond
165 J S Patel

Sri Lanka Innings
W U Tharanga st B B McCullum b J S Patel
77 9 0
S T Jayasuriya c B B McCullum b K D Mills
15 2 1
D P M D Jayawardene c D L Vettori b J S Patel
73 6 0
K C Sangakkara not out
32 2 0
M S Atapattu not out
27 0 0
8nb 4w 1lb 13
for 3 166 (36.0 ovs)

K D Mills 5.0 0 24 1
S E Bond 7.0 0 46 0
J D P Oram 4.0 0 14 0
D L Vettori 10.0 0 45 0
J S Patel 9.0 0 32 2
N J Astle 1.0 0 4 0
Fall of wicket
45 S T Jayasuriya
134 D P M D Jayawardene
135 W U Tharanga

Umpires: Aleem Dar, R E Koertzen

Champions Trophy Group B: New Zealand vs Sri Lanka [Q1], Mumbai


Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

International cricket returns to the historic Brabourne Stadium after 11 years. Floodlights have been installed and the stands repainted, giving the ground a whole new look. The venue will host five matches, including the final.

ICC Champions Trophy Cricket (Mini World Cup) 2006

Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed Champions Trophy 2006 RSS Feed


Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.