India Cricket Match

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Cricket League 2007

Champions Twenty20 League

Champions Twenty20 League

The Champions Twenty20 League, formed with the official sanction of ICC will kick off in October 2008. Eight domestic teams from four nations will participate. Cricket Australia will partner the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and Cricket South Africa (CSA). The champion team in the Champions Twenty20 league will get US $5 million, which is the highest ever prize money for a cricket event.

Get the latest news and views regarding Champions T20 League →

NKP Salve Challenger Trophy 2007-08


India Cricket News November 2007

Indian Team Coach

Kirsten signs up as new India cricket coach

Former South Africa batsman Gary Kirsten has signed a two-year deal to coach India, a top cricket board official said Wednesday.
The deal was sealed after all the issues relating to Kirsten's appointment were sorted out Tuesday, paving the way for the former opener to occupy the hot-seat, vacant since the exit of Australian Greg Chappell in April last year. Shah said Kirsten will meet the players in Bangalore, venue for India's third and final Test against Pakistan on December 8-12.
"Kirsten will be spending a couple of days with the Indian team in Bangalore during the third Test against Pakistan," he said. "He will be with the Indian team in Australia as a consultant for a couple of weeks before taking over full-time in March when India host South Africa."
India are to leave for Australia on December 17 to play four Tests and a limited-over tri-series, with Sri Lanka as the third team. Kirsten, 40, told the website that he would be honoured to take charge of the Indian team. "It is a huge honour and I'm looking forward to the challenge with as much enthusiasm as any challenge I've ever faced. I know how big the job is and I know it won't be easy, but it's also something I really want to do, and do well," he said. Kirsten, who who quit international cricket in 2004 after scoring 7,289 runs in 101 Tests, also said he was excited about the prospect of India facing his home country in his first match as coach.

Kirsten certain to take over as India coach

Gary Kirsten has emerged as the leading candidate to become the new coach of India.
The former South Africa opener was interviewed for the post on Monday and it is believed a two-year contract has been agreed in principle. Kirsten is currently heading back to South Africa to discuss the move with his family.
Should he take over, Kirsten would succeed Australian Greg Chappell, who resigned following India's group-stage exit at the World Cup in March. An official announcement is expected early next week. Kirsten, 40, played in 101 Tests and 185 one-day internationals for South Africa in an 11-year international career which ended in 2004.

Pakistan in India, Indian Oil Cup 2007

Kartik, Harbhajan recalled into Test squad

India off spinner Harbhajan Singh has been handed a test recall after selectors included him in the 14-player squad announced on Wednesday for the first two tests against Pakistan.
The 27-year-old was dropped from the test and one-day teams after the World Cup in March due to poor form and missed the test series win in England that concluded in August.
However, Harbhajan earned a recall to the one-day side after helping India win the Twenty20 World Cup in September and his strong recent performances have impressed the test selectors.
Left-armer Murali Kartik was also included as the third specialist spinner after he did well on his one-day return in October. Veteran leg spinner Anil Kumble leads the side for the three-test series while wicketkeeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named vice-captain, giving a clear indication the one-day and Twenty20 skipper will take over as test captain in the future.
India Test Squad: Anil Kumble (Captain), Wasim Jaffer, Dinesh Karthik, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly, Vangipurappu Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Rudra Pratap Singh, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Murali Kartik.

Kumble to lead India Test team against Pakistan

Anil Kumble was on Thursday named India's new Test captain for the upcoming home series against Pakistan ahead of ODI and Twenty20 skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni who was widely tipped to get the reins of the Test team as well. Kumble, a veteran of 118 Test and 271 One-day matches, got the job after Sachin Tendulkar turned down the offer two days back.
The leg spinner, who quit One-day cricket after this year's World Cup, has 566 wickets in 118 Tests, and is India's highest wicket-taker in the longer version of the game. He made his Test debut against England at Manchester in 1990 and is methodical and gentlemanly on and off the field, and has been a match-winner for India. He also equalled Jim Laker's record of taking all 10 wickets in an innings when he achieved the feat against Pakistan in the Ferozeshah Kotla Test in 1999.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.