World Cup Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

ICC World Twenty20 England 2009

T20 cricket The 2009 ICC World Twenty20 is the World Championship for Cricket in the Twenty20 format. There are 12 teams competing in the Group Stages. The first two placed teams from each of the four groups (Group A to D) will move on to the Super Eights. Each team plays three games against teams they have not already played. (Teams divided into Group E and Group F). Fixtures are predetermined and have no connection to who finished first and second in the group. No points are carried forward from group stages. Top two teams in Groups E and F qualify for semi-finals.

Complete News Coverage of the Second ICC World Twenty20

ICC World 20/20 Championship 2009

ICC World Twenty20 2009: WT20 2009 Cup Index | Latest News | Results | Championship Schedule | Groups & Points | Twenty20 Teams | Venues | Live Telecast

World Cup Cricket


The Cricket World Cup was first held in 1975 in England, with eight teams participating: Australia, England, the West Indies, Pakistan, India, and New Zealand (the six Test nations at the time), with Sri Lanka and a composite team from East Africa).
The first three tournaments were held in England. N. K. P. Salve, President of the Indian Cricket Board recounts the awarding of hosting rights for the 1987 World Cup in his book The Story of the Reliance Cup. According to Salve, he was given two tickets for the 1983 World Cup final at Lord's. When India unexpectedly qualified for the final, he requested two additional tickets from the MCC for friends who had just arrived from India. The MCC refused his request. Following this rebuff, Salve campaigned heavily amongst associate members of the International Cricket Council to form a bloc of voters, who ultimately awarded the hosting of the 1987 World Cup jointly to India and Pakistan.
Since 1987, the hosting of the World Cup been shared by the major cricket playing regions of the world - England, the Indian subcontinent, Australasia, Southern Africa and the West Indies. The tournaments have been based mainly in the local superpowers, though matches are held in all regional cricketing nations.
The World Cup is held in high esteem amongst fans, players, and administrators, unlike many of the myriad of one-day tournaments held around the world each year. It has been the scene of some of the major developments in the way one-day cricket is played.

World Cup Cricket Tournaments

The ICC Cricket World Cup, generally referred to as the Cricket World Cup, is the premier international championship of men's One-day International (ODI) cricket. The event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament which is held every four years.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 web site

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.