India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Compaq Cup Tri-series in Sri Lanka

Harbhajan, Tendulkar star in India’s Compaq Cup victory

Sachin Tendulkar's 44th ODI century, his 86th international hundred in total (138) and Harbhajan Singh's five-wicket haul helped India to secure victory in the Compaq Cup final played at R.Premadasa stadium. Yuvraj Singh (56 not out) and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (56) chipped in with useful contributions as Sachin added 95 with Rahul Dravid (39), 110 with Mahendra Dhoni and 71 with Yuvraj Singh after India won the toss and made 319-5.
Sri Lanka were all out for 273 in 46.4 overs with Harbhajan Singh returning an impressive haul of 5 for 56. Tillakaratne Dilshan (42) and Sanath Jayasuriya (36) gave Sri Lanka a flying start before Harbhajan started chipping away, dismissing both Dilshan and Jayawardene. Thilan Kandamby (66) and Chamara Kapugedera (35) kept the hosts in the hunt but ran out of steam in the end with Harbhajan taking the last three wickets. It was an impressive turnaround for India, who lost by 139 runs when the sides met in a group stage game at the same ground two days back.
This latest victory puts India back to within a single ratings point of South Africa and with just two points separating first from third placed Australia in the table. Australia, already four-nil up in the seven-ODI series against England, could go top of the rankings if it manages a clean sweep.
India 319/5 (Tendulkar 138, Yuvraj 56*, Dhoni 56) beat Sri Lanka 272 (Kandamby 66, Harbhajan 5-57) by 46 runs

Sri Lanka beat India by 139 runs

Less than 24 hours after India had ascended to the position of top ODI team, Angelo Mathews ripped through India's middle order, claiming six wickets as Sri Lanka inflicted a comprehensive 139-run victory over them.
Sanath Jayasuriya cracked 98 off just 79 deliveries and Thilina Kandamby raced to an unbeaten 91 off 73 deliveries towards the end as the hosts piled up a formidable 307 for six, batting first.For India, opening duo of Dinesh Karthick and Sachin Tendulkar made a promising start, before Karthick fell for 16 runs from 23 balls. Tendulkar soon followed him back, lasting 33 balls, hitting 5 fours for 28. Rahul Dravid (47) and MS Dhoni (8) fell in identical fashion within the space of 2 overs, followed by Yusuf Pathan (1), Harbhajan Singh (4) and Ashish Nehra (1) - all to Angelo Mathews.
Sri Lanka 307/6 (Jayasuriya 98, Kandamby 91*) beat India 168 (Dravid 47, Mathews 6-20) by 139 runs

India beat New Zealand by six wickets

A depleted Indian side inflicted a crushing six-wicket defeat on New Zealand at R. Premadasa Stadium, eliminating the Kiwis from the tournament.
Ashish Nehra picked up 3 wickets for 24 to take his ODI tally past 100 and Yuvraj Singh took 3 for 31 as New Zealand were all out for 155 in 46.3 overs. Dinesh Karthik was unlucky to be given out lbw, but Sachin Tendulkar (46) and Rahul Dravid (14) ensured the outcome would be a formality as they added 60 for the second wicket. Dhoni (45 not out) and Suresh Raina (35 not out) took India past the target with ease.With this win, India, now with 128 points, are technically #1 in the ODI rankings, ahead of South Africa, who have 127.
India 156/4 (Tendulkar 46, Raina 45*) beat New Zealand 155 (Nehra 3-24, Yuvraj 3-31) by six wickets

Sri Lanka crushes New Zealand by 97 runs

Thilan Samaraweera's defiant century (104) as they recovered from a disastrous start to reach 216-7, backed up by three wickets in a single over from Lasith Malinga (4-28) to bowl out Black Caps for just 119 in the 37th over, gave Sri Lanka a crushing 97-run win in the opening match of the tri-nation series. Sri Lanka were struggling at 69-5 after electing to bat before Samaraweera led the fightback with a vital 127-run stand for the sixth wicket with Angelo Mathews (51).
For New Zealand, Grant Elliott top-scored with 41. Ian Butler (25), McCullum (14) and skipper Daniel Vettori (10) were the other batsmen to reach double-figures in a dismal batting performance.
Sri Lanka 216/7 (Samaraweera 104, Mathews 51, Bond 3-43) beat New Zealand 119 (Elliott 41, Malinga 4-28) by 97 runs

Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar back in India ODI squad

Indian cricket selectors on Sunday recalled Rahul Dravid, whose last one-day international appearance came in October 2007, to the 15 member ODI squad for next month's tri-series in Sri Lanka (Sept 8-14) and the Champions Trophy in South Africa (Sept 22-Oct 5). Rohit Sharma was dropped after he scored just 15 runs in three ODIs against the West Indies last month and also could not impress in the Twenty20 World Cup in England.
Sachin Tendulkar also returned to the squad after opting out of the series against the West Indies but Virender Sehwag misses out because he is not fully recovered from a shoulder injury. Ishant Sharma will lead India's pace attack along with Rudra Pratap Singh, Ashish Nehra and Praveen Kumar. Indian Team for Tri-Series and Champions Trophy: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Yuvraj Singh, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ashish Nehra, Rudra Pratap Singh, Ishant Sharma

"Compaq Cup" India - Sri Lanka - New Zealand Tri-Series

India, Sri Lanka and New Zealand will fight for the 'Compaq Cup 2009' when they compete in the cricket tri-series which begins on September 8 in Colombo. A total of four one-dayers being played among the three competing teams between September 8-14.
All the matches will be broadcast live on TEN Sports. India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka - Tri-Series 2009
Schedule Match Venue
Sept 8
2:30 local | 9:00 GMT
Sri Lanka v New Zealand Premadasa stadium, Colombo
Sept 11
2:30 local | 9:00 GMT
India vs New Zealand Premadasa stadium, Colombo
Sept 12
2:30 local | 9:00 GMT
India v Sri Lanka Premadasa stadium, Colombo
Sept 14
09:30 local | 4:30 GMT
FINAL Premadasa stadium, Colombo

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.