India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Australia v West Indies in Malaysia

DLF Tri Series Trophy Australia Vs West Indies Match 1

Australia beat West Indies in the opening match

Australian bowlers put on a sizzling display of attacking play to beat West Indies by 78 runs in the opening match of the Tri-Nations Series at the Kinrara Oval Australia, who won the toss, elected to bat on a blistering hot day and that decision paid off handsomely as they chalked up 279 runs from the 50 limited overs match, with skipper Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke surpassing the half century marks.
Clarke was the leading Aussie scorer with 81 runs while Ponting complemented with 54 runs.
West Indies, who needed 280 runs, made a slow start but soon upped the pace through their middle order batsman. However, towards the tail-end, the West Indies batsmen collapsed, no thanks to the brilliance of Shane Watson's superb bowling.
The Series, played under floodlights for the first time in the history of cricket in Malaysia, was a show stopper among residents in and around Kinrara and Puchong.
Tri series, Kuala Lumpur: Australia 279-9 beat West Indies 201 by 78 runs

McGrath to play tri-series opener

Glenn McGrath will play his first international in more than seven months but mystery surrounds Australia's final lineup a day out from its DLF Cup tri-series opener against the West Indies.
Out of international action since April when they played minnows Bangladesh, Ricky Ponting's men are keen to get back to the business of winning ahead of the Champions Trophy, a tournament they are still to win.
The squad that the Aussies have brought here gives the impression that the emphasis would be on experimentation, and Ponting hinted as much by leaving out some big names like vice-captain Michael Hussey and speedster Brett Lee from the playing eleven.
The pitch also is a bit of concern although it does not bear any resemblance to the clay track that was dished out for the Commonwealth cricket competition in 1998.
The centre-square is rock hard with an even distribution of grass and curator Les Burdett said it was expected to behave as the pitch at the Adelaide Oval -- something that should please the Aussies who have won six out of the last 10 ODIs played between the two teams with one ending in no result. Australia Team : Ricky Ponting (Captain), Simon Katich, Mark Cosgrove, Phil Jaques, Michael Clarke, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (Wicket Keeper), Mitchell Johnson, Dan Cullen, Nathan Bracken, Glenn McGrath.
West Indies Team : Brian Lara (Captain), Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chris Gayle, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Wavell Hinds, Runako Morton, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith, Carlton Baugh (Wicket Keeper), Ian Bradshaw, Jerome Taylor, Fidel Edwards, Corey Collymore.

DLF Tri Series Cricket Australia v West Indies Scorecard


Australia won the toss and decided to bat
279 for 9 (50.0 overs)
201 all out (34.3 overs)

Australia Innings
P A Jaques
b F H Edwards
10 0 0
S M Katich c D J Bravo b I D R Bradshaw
69 4 0
R T Ponting lbw b I D R Bradshaw
53 9 0
M J Clarke
b D J Bravo
79 9 0
M J Cosgrove c B C Lara b D R Smith
38 5 0
S R Watson c R R Sarwan b D R Smith
15 0 0
B J Haddin
b J E Taylor
19 3 0
M G Johnson
b J E Taylor
8 1 1
N W Bracken
b J E Taylor
3 0 0
D J Cullen not out
3 0 0
G D McGrath not out
3 0 0
18w 10lb 28
for 9 279 (50.0 ovs)

I D R Bradshaw 10.0 0 37 2
F H Edwards 6.0 0 38 1
C H Gayle 8.0 1 37 0
D R Smith 9.0 1 39 2
J E Taylor 10.0 0 59 3
D J Bravo 7.0 0 59 1
Fall of wicket
9 P A Jaques
107 R T Ponting
122 S M Katich
191 M J Cosgrove
205 S R Watson
258 M J Clarke
258 B J Haddin
260 N W Bracken
276 M G Johnson

West Indies Innings
C H Gayle c R T Ponting b S R Watson
46 7 2
S Chanderpaul c B J Haddin b M G Johnson
83 10 4
R R Sarwan c R T Ponting b S R Watson
48 3 0
B C Lara lbw b M G Johnson
3 0 0
D J Bravo c P A Jaques b G D McGrath
10 1 0
W W Hinds c B J Haddin b M J Cosgrove
3 0 0
D R Smith c B J Haddin b N W Bracken
9 0 0
C S Baugh c B J Haddin b N W Bracken
5 0 0
I D R Bradshaw lbw b S R Watson
1 0 0
J E Taylor
b S R Watson
1 0 0
F H Edwards not out
3 0 0
5nb 7w 2lb 14
all out 201 (34.3 ovs)

G D McGrath 9.0 0 30 1
N W Bracken 6.3 2 45 2
M G Johnson 8.0 0 65 2
S R Watson 8.0 0 43 4
D J Cullen 2.0 0 15 0
M J Cosgrove 1.0 0 1 1
Fall of wicket
136 C H Gayle
172 S Chanderpaul
176 B C Lara
185 D J Bravo
196 W W Hinds
197 R R Sarwan
198 C S Baugh
199 I D R Bradshaw
199 J E Taylor
201 D R Smith

Australia West Indies Cricket Teams for Malaysia


West Indies

C H Gayle, W W Hinds, R R Sarwan, B C Lara, S Chanderpaul, D J Bravo, D R Smith, C S Baugh, I D R Bradshaw, F H Edwards, J E Taylor


S M Katich, P A Jaques, R T Ponting, M J Clarke, M J Cosgrove, S R Watson, B J Haddin, D J Cullen, N W Bracken, M G Johnson, G D McGrath

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.